Claudio Sanchez http://kbia.org en Federal Loans Tough To Come By For Community College Students http://kbia.org/post/federal-loans-tough-come-community-college-students Tuition and fees at most community colleges are pretty reasonable these days, about $3,500 a year. Which is why the vast majority of community college students don't take out loans to cover their costs. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:54:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 56208 at http://kbia.org Federal Loans Tough To Come By For Community College Students A 'Major Shift' In Oversight Of Special Education http://kbia.org/post/major-shift-promised-oversight-special-education-programs The Obama administration said Tuesday that the vast majority of the 6.5 million students with disabilities in U.S. schools today are not receiving a quality education, and that it will hold states accountable for demonstrating that those students are making progress.<p>Education Secretary Arne Duncan announced what he calls "a major shift" in how the government evaluates the effectiveness of federally funded special education programs.<p>"It's not enough for a state to be compliant if students can't read or do math," Duncan said. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 55070 at http://kbia.org A 'Major Shift' In Oversight Of Special Education Study Delivers Failing Grades For Many Programs Training Teachers http://kbia.org/post/study-delivers-failing-grades-many-programs-training-teachers The nation's teacher-preparation programs have plenty of room for improvement, according to a new report.<p>A <a href="http://www.nctq.org/dmsStage/Teacher_Prep_Review_2014_Report">study released today by the National Council on Teacher Quality</a> argues that teaching colleges are too lenient in their admissions criteria and have failed to prepare their students to teach subjects like reading, math and science.<p>The study is the group's second in two years. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 54705 at http://kbia.org Study Delivers Failing Grades For Many Programs Training Teachers College For Free: Tulsa's Radical Idea http://kbia.org/post/college-free-tulsa-radical-idea The average cost of one college year across all degree-granting intuitions in the U.S. was more than $19,000 in 2012, and we don't need to tell you what direction the price is heading. Which means lots of students are now borrowing heavily to make college work. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 07:37:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 54346 at http://kbia.org College For Free: Tulsa's Radical Idea Despite Expansion, Many Pre-K Programs Fail To Reach Immigrant Kids http://kbia.org/post/despite-expansion-many-pre-k-programs-fail-reach-immigrant-kids Most states have embarked on a significant expansion of preschool programs, but a new report says they appear to be missing the kids who need these programs most: low-income, immigrant children. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 53934 at http://kbia.org New Rules Aim To Keep School Doors Open For Undocumented Students http://kbia.org/post/new-rules-aim-keep-school-doors-open-undocumented-students Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>The Obama administration today reissued guidelines for America's schools. The goal is to keep states from turning away children who cannot prove that they are in the U.S. legally. A 1982 Supreme Court ruling allowed undocumented students free access to a public education. Thu, 08 May 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 52639 at http://kbia.org Department Of Education Brings Home A Disappointing Report Card http://kbia.org/post/department-education-brings-home-disappointing-report-card Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Flat, stagnant, static, those are words that the U.S. Department of Education has used to describe the latest reading and math scores for the nation's 12th graders.<p>As NPR's Claudio Sanchez reports, most high school seniors appear to be graduating without the skills they need to succeed in college or work.<p>CLAUDIO SANCHEZ, BYLINE: If this was your teenager's report card, you'd probably be on the phone with your kid's school right now, demanding to know why your child's reading and math scores have remained so low for so long. Wed, 07 May 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 52601 at http://kbia.org Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa http://kbia.org/post/whos-getting-preschool-right-researchers-point-tulsa Many educators say quality early childhood education programs give young children a strong foundation for kindergarten and beyond.<p>But what does a high-quality preschool program look like? Early childhood education researchers point to Tulsa, Okla., as a school system that gets it right. NPR's education team went to Tulsa to find out what help sets the city's preschool program apart. <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/22/304563233/what-exactly-is-high-quality-preschool">You can read more about what they found — and visit a Tulsa preschool classroom, here</a>. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 51764 at http://kbia.org Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? http://kbia.org/post/what-exactly-high-quality-preschool <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbWRWeVe1XE</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 51724 at http://kbia.org What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out http://kbia.org/post/early-childhood-education-tulsa-okla-stands-out The federal government spends almost $8 billion on preschool programs across the country, mostly on low income 4-year-olds. States spend billions more. But with at least 30 states planning to expand access to pre-K and President Obama promoting "preschool for all," what constitutes a quality preschool program?<p>NPR's education team set out to better understand what separates the nation's best programs from the rest, and that journey led to a surprising place: Tulsa, Okla. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 51725 at http://kbia.org For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP http://kbia.org/post/common-core-turns-business-leaders-against-oklahoma-gop Mike Neal gets annoyed when he talks about politicians in his state. Just three years ago, when the Common Core State Standards for education were implemented, no one had a problem with them, says Neal, president of the Tulsa, Okla., Regional Chamber of Commerce.<p>"It's been a really frustrating situation to the business community in Oklahoma in that we've all been on the same page, from the governor, the House, the Senate, school board members," Neal says. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 50812 at http://kbia.org Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP As Common Core Tests Approach, So Does A Sea Change In Schools http://kbia.org/post/common-core-tests-approach-so-does-sea-change-schools Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>We're going to spend the next few minutes on a sea change in America's schools, the Common Core. It sets new benchmarks for reading and math for students from kindergarten through high school. It has been adopted in 45 states and the District of Columbia. But the changes are controversial. Opponents are racing to stop them even as teachers struggle to implement them. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 49821 at http://kbia.org How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High http://kbia.org/post/how-cost-college-went-affordable-sky-high <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YL4PP2kS-fg</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 49786 at http://kbia.org How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High College Board Breaks Out Red Pen For SAT Corrections http://kbia.org/post/college-board-breaks-out-red-pen-sat-corrections Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>The most widely used measure of a student's readiness for college is getting a makeover. The College Board is changing the SAT. It's the second major revision of the test in nine years.<p>NPR's Claudio Sanchez joins us now to tell us what the new SAT might look like. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 49120 at http://kbia.org Teachers Unions Mobilize To Delay The Common Core http://kbia.org/post/teachers-unions-mobilize-delay-common-core Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The nation's largest teachers union is calling for a delay in the adoption of the Common Core. That's the name of new math and language arts standards that are supposed to be in place next fall in 45 states. The 3 million-member National Education Association has been a strong supporter. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 48787 at http://kbia.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? http://kbia.org/post/part-time-professors-demand-higher-pay-will-colleges-listen When you think about minimum-wage workers, college professors don't readily come to mind. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 47584 at http://kbia.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? The Obamas Hope To Ease Path For Low-Income Students http://kbia.org/post/obamas-hope-ease-path-low-income-students President Obama and first lady Michelle Obama hosted a meeting with college presidents and organizations involved in raising the number of low-income students who pursue a college degree. No more than half of low income high school graduates apply to college right after graduation, compared to 82 percent for high-income students. The administration says it's intent on closing that gap. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 21:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 46767 at http://kbia.org Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound http://kbia.org/post/parents-worry-schools-overlook-girls-who-arent-college-bound Kyrah Whatley, 17, is a bright student with pretty good grades. But the thought of spending two to four more years in a college classroom is depressing, she says.<p>Masonry, on the other hand, intrigues her. "I'm a kinesthetic learner. ... Wed, 11 Dec 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 45092 at http://kbia.org Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools http://kbia.org/post/kids-pay-price-fight-over-fixing-philadelphia-schools <em>This is the first in a three-part report on Philadelphia schools in crisis. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 44119 at http://kbia.org Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami http://kbia.org/post/pitbull-mr-education-rapper-opens-charter-school-miami Rapper Pitbull (Armando Christian Pérez) is the latest in a long list of celebrities lending their star power to the flourishing charter school movement. Alicia Keyes, Denzel Washington, Shakira, Oprah — all support or sponsor charter schools.<p>The <a href="http://www.slammiami.com/" target="_blank">Sports Leadership And Management Academy (SLAM)</a>, Pitbull's new public charter school for students in grades six through 12, opened this fall in Miami's Little Havana neighborhood. Tue, 15 Oct 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 42164 at http://kbia.org Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated http://kbia.org/post/push-common-standards-many-parents-left-uneducated Forty-five states have adopted the Common Core State Standards, the first-ever national academic standards for students. But opposition is growing, and some lawmakers are having second thoughts about their states' support.<p>Meanwhile, proponents of the standards are still struggling to explain the initiative to parents, many of whom say they've never even heard of Common Core.<p><strong>Looking For Direction</strong><p>Cynthia Clay has been a teacher and administrator in Middletown, Del., for 31 years. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 20:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 40922 at http://kbia.org In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated The Sad Death Of An Adjunct Professor Sparks A Labor Debate http://kbia.org/post/adjunct-professor-dies-destitute-then-sparks-debate The death of a long-time, part-time professor in Pittsburgh is gathering the attention of instructors nationwide. The trend of relying on part-time faculty has been in the works for decades, and Margaret Mary Vojtko's story is seen by some as a tragic byproduct.<p>Last spring, months before her death, Vojtko showed up at a meeting between adjunct professors at Duquesne University and the union officials who had been trying to organize them. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 11:37:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 40909 at http://kbia.org New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts http://kbia.org/post/new-school-year-brings-sequestration-pain-many-districts The superintendent of the Lancaster, Pa., school district is meeting with teachers and staff at George Washington Elementary. It's the start of a new school year, and he's trying to sound upbeat about the district's finances.<p>"We continue to lose 5 and 10 percent of budgets each year," Pedro Rivera tells them. "And our overall goal is to make those plans and stretch out dollars to not impact you, because no kids should go without. Right?"<p>Applause is polite but scattered, and Rivera's question hangs in the air. Sat, 07 Sep 2013 10:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 40119 at http://kbia.org New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? http://kbia.org/post/does-data-exist-make-college-rating-system-work President Obama unveiled a plan on Thursday that would, for the first time, tie federal student aid to a new rating system for colleges and universities. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:08:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 39285 at http://kbia.org Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? What's Behind The Turnaround At Miami Public Schools? http://kbia.org/post/whats-behind-turnaround-miami-public-schools Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>For years, Miami-Dade County Public Schools faced problems common to many urban schools: low attendance, high dropout rates, poor grades. But since 2008, Alberto Carvalho has been in charge of the nation's fourth largest school district, and there've been some noticeable improvements in Miami schools. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:22:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 39145 at http://kbia.org The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues http://kbia.org/post/charter-school-vs-public-school-debate-continues Charter schools turn 21 this year. In that time, these privately run, publicly funded schools have spread to 41 states and enrolled more than 2 million students.<p>But one key question lingers: Do kids in charter schools learn more than kids in traditional public schools?<p>There have been lots of skirmishes over charter school data over the years. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 37179 at http://kbia.org The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 http://kbia.org/post/student-loan-rates-set-double-july-1 The interest rate on government-backed student loans is going to jump from 3.4 percent to 6.8 percent Monday.<p>Republicans, Democrats and the Obama administration could not agree on a plan to keep it from happening. Lawmakers say a deal is still possible after the July 4 recess. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 07:44:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 36181 at http://kbia.org Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks http://kbia.org/post/study-teacher-prep-programs-get-failing-marks The U.S. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 06:56:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 35633 at http://kbia.org Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist http://kbia.org/post/online-college-courses-get-big-boost-doubts-persist From New Mexico to New York, 10 state university systems have announced they are joining the ranks of elite institutions embracing the massive open online course, or MOOC, system.<p>On Thursday, they unveiled a landmark partnership with <a href="https://www.coursera.org/">Coursera, a for-profit tech company</a> with 3.5 million registered students. Thu, 30 May 2013 21:00:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 34605 at http://kbia.org Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist 30 Years On, Educators Still Divided On Scathing Schools Report http://kbia.org/post/30-years-educators-still-divided-scathing-schools-report Thirty years ago this week, President Ronald Reagan's administration released "A Nation at Risk," a report warning of "a rising tide of mediocrity" in American public education.<p>According to the report, only one-third of 17-year-olds in 1983 could solve a math problem requiring two steps or more, and 4 out of 10 teenagers couldn't draw inferences from written material. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 21:07:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 32739 at http://kbia.org