Here and Now on KBIA 2 http://kbia.org en First Embryonic Stem Cells Cloned From Adults http://kbia.org/post/first-embryonic-stem-cells-cloned-adults For the first time, scientists have successfully grown stem cells from adults using cloning techniques.<p>This development, published in Thursday’s online edition of the journal <a href="http://www.cell.com/cell-stem-cell/home" target="_blank">Cell Stem Cell</a>, brings scientists closer to developing patient-specific lines of cells that can be used to treat medical ailments.<p>NPR science correspondent <strong>Richard Harris</strong> discusses this breakthrough and ethical controversy this discovery might elicit with <a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/"><em>Here & Now&#8217;</em></a>s Meghna Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 51564 at http://kbia.org Boston Is Ready To Run Again http://kbia.org/post/boston-ready-run-again One of the biggest fields ever will assemble in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, for the 118th Boston Marathon on Monday morning, which is Patriots&#8217; Day in Massachusetts. It&#8217;s the first Boston Marathon since the bombings near the finish line last April.<p>This year, 36,000 people will be running, including elite athletes from all around the world. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 51562 at http://kbia.org Boston Is Ready To Run Again Boston Marathon Inspires At Children's Cancer Clinic http://kbia.org/post/boston-marathon-inspires-childrens-cancer-clinic While the Boston Marathon will be the center of international attention this year, the marathon has always been a focal point at a Boston clinic that treats children with cancer.<p>For each of the past 16 marathons, many patients at the pediatric cancer program at Massachusetts General Hospital have been paired with runners &#8212; using the race&#8217;s symbol of endurance and strength to the youngsters undergoing cancer treatment.<p>Two former patients ran last year but were stopped before the finish line because of the bombings.<p>But they&#8217;ll be back &#8212; running this year, determi Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 51563 at http://kbia.org Boston Marathon Inspires At Children's Cancer Clinic Jane Goodall Plants 'Seeds Of Hope' http://kbia.org/post/jane-goodall-plants-seeds-hope Primatologist <strong>Jane Goodall</strong> is known for her groundbreaking work with the chimpanzees in Gombe National Park in Tanzania. But she also has a lifelong love of trees.<p>&#8220;To me, trees are living beings and they have their own sort of personalities,&#8221; she tells <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Robin Young. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 51495 at http://kbia.org Jane Goodall Plants 'Seeds Of Hope' New Military Rules On Hair Create Controversy http://kbia.org/post/new-military-rules-hair-create-controversy There are now more than 17,000 signatures on a <a href="http://https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/reconsider-changes-ar-670-1-allow-professional-ethnic-hairstyles/BnR900wx" target="_blank">new White House petition</a>, calling on the Obama administration to reconsider new Army regulations about hair and grooming.<p>And the women in the Congressional Black Caucus have also sent a <a href="http://cbc.fudge.house.gov/press-releases/women-members-of-the-cbc-send-letter-to-dod-secretary-hagel-on-unauthorized-hairstyles/" target="_blank">letter</a> to Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel, to the sam Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 51496 at http://kbia.org New Military Rules On Hair Create Controversy General Mills' New Privacy Policy Restricts Consumers' Right To Sue http://kbia.org/post/general-mills-new-privacy-policy-restricts-consumers-right-sue If you download a coupon for Cheerios or Cocoa Puffs, or &#8220;like&#8221; a General Mills product on Facebook, you may be barred from suing the company.<p>General Mills has changed its privacy policy. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 51497 at http://kbia.org General Mills' New Privacy Policy Restricts Consumers' Right To Sue DJ Sessions: Blurring The Lines Between Rock, Jazz And Classical http://kbia.org/post/dj-sessions-blurring-lines-between-rock-jazz-and-classical In the latest installment of DJ Sessions, pianist <strong>Christopher O&#8217;Riley</strong> joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson to talk about his favorite group that&#8217;s making waves in the classical community.<p>O&#8217;Riley says <a href="http://www.thebadplus.com/" target="_blank">The Bad Plus</a> is comprised of great composers. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 51430 at http://kbia.org DJ Sessions: Blurring The Lines Between Rock, Jazz And Classical ER Doctor Looks Back A Year After Marathon Bombing http://kbia.org/post/er-doctor-looks-back-year-after-marathon-bombing On this day a year ago, Bostonians got one of their first glimpses into the aftermath of the Boston Marathon bombing, when emergency room physician <strong>Ron Medzon</strong> came on our program.<p>&#8220;It was just one after another after another,” he said of the victims being brought into the hospital. “Every single person had a limb-threatening injury, a life-threatening injury. And I think 20 people came in over 40 minutes, which is just incredible.”<p>Thirteen area hospitals received 180 patients. Emergency rooms turned into MASH units. A year after the marathon bombing, Dr. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 51431 at http://kbia.org ER Doctor Looks Back A Year After Marathon Bombing Slow Start To Spring Housing Market http://kbia.org/post/slow-start-spring-housing-market Usually as the weather heats up, so does the U.S. housing market. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 51432 at http://kbia.org Boston Marks First Anniversary Of Marathon Bombing http://kbia.org/post/boston-marks-first-anniversary-marathon-bombing A somber anniversary is being marked in Boston today. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 51371 at http://kbia.org Boston Marks First Anniversary Of Marathon Bombing 'Philomena' DVD Brings Real Philomena To New Audiences http://kbia.org/post/philomena-dvd-brings-real-philomena-new-audiences Today, the DVD of the Oscar-nominated film &#8220;Philomena&#8221; is being released. One of the special features contained on the DVD is an interview with the real Philomena Lee. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 51372 at http://kbia.org Talking Pot With Teens In Colorado http://kbia.org/post/talking-pot-teens-colorado When Colorado voters passed Amendment 64 back in November of 2012, they set in motion an effort that has focused on setting up a system for people to legally obtain recreational marijuana.<p>But there’s been less attention on how to keep pot away from those who aren’t supposed to use it &#8212; anyone under 21 years of age. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 51373 at http://kbia.org Talking Pot With Teens In Colorado How To Start Conversations With Total Strangers http://kbia.org/post/how-start-conversations-total-strangers Have you ever gone up to an intriguing looking person at a party, tried to start a conversation and froze? Or perhaps you just babbled mundanely about the weather? Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 51323 at http://kbia.org How To Start Conversations With Total Strangers 'Blood Moon' Begins Series Of Lunar Eclipses http://kbia.org/post/blood-moon-begins-series-lunar-eclipses Stargazers are in for a treat if they&#8217;re willing to stay up late tonight. A rare lunar eclipse known as a blood-moon will begin tomorrow morning at about 2 a.m. Eastern time. The full eclipse will last from about 3 a.m. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 51324 at http://kbia.org 'Blood Moon' Begins Series Of Lunar Eclipses Development Forces Out Pronghorn Antelope http://kbia.org/post/development-forces-out-pronghorn-antelope When we think of the American West, we picture wide open spaces. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 51325 at http://kbia.org Development Forces Out Pronghorn Antelope