Missouri Farmers Eligible for Flood Disaster Funds

Floods plagued Missouri farmers in 2011 – but now they are getting some relief.

By Matt Noonan (Columbia, Mo.)

Governor Jay Nixon’s request for the USDA to declare Missouri counties primary disaster areas was granted Friday by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. Governor Nixon’s spokesperson, Scott Holste, said the declaration gives farmers more options for financial recovery.

“Farmers who live in those counties will be able to seek assistance from the Farm Services Agency—in the form of loans or other types of assistance to help them recoup some of their losses,” said Holste.

23 Missouri counties are declared primary natural disaster areas. 26 are eligible to receive financial assistance. Nixon’s request for disaster declaration in severe drought areas in the state is still pending.