Three MU grads are now part of U.S. Senate

Dec 10, 2012

The University of Missouri will have three graduates in the U.S. Senate for at least the next six years.

Martin Heinrich is a 1995 graduate and will represent New Mexico after being sworn in January 3. He will join Governor Tim Kaine of Virginia, who graduated from Missouri in 1979, and Claire McCaskill who graduated in 1975. All three are Democrats.

The Columbia Daily Tribune reports that this is the largest number of U.S. senators from one state-supported school.