KBIA Wins 10 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 25, 2017

The Radio and Television Digital News Association has awarded KBIA 10 prestigious Edward R. Murrow awards for our work as a small-market radio station in region 5. These awards recognize "the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world."

The 10 awards were the most for any small market radio station in the country in 2017. It is the highest total KBIA has received in a single year, the 5 awards in each of the last two years were KBIA’s previous record for one year.

The awards were:

-Overall Excellence. This is the third year in a row KBIA has won overall excellence in this region.

-Best Website. This is the fifth year in a row that KBIA.org has been named the best website in this region.

-Excellence In Innovation

-News Documentary: Mizzou at a Crossroads (Special web buildout here)

-News Series: An Uncertain Road: Life After Premature Birth

-Feature: In a Rural Missouri Community, Pride Takes Root

-Sports Reporting: Moberly Man Takes Special Olympics Coaching Beyond the Court

-Investigative Reporting: Skewed Sampling Persists in St. Louis Lead Contamination Testing

-Excellence in Sound: A Local Town’s Special Claim to Fame: Winston Churchill

-Newscast: November 9, 2016

There are 16 categories in each regional competition. KBIA's region includes Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska and Missouri. The entries in these ten categories will go on to the national competition against the winning entries from other regions. Those winners will be announced in June.

KBIA has won a national Edward R. Murrow award in each of the last 3 years, winning for Best Website in 2016, Feature Reporting in 2015, and Best Website in 2014.

These are just the latest awards this year for KBIA's work. KBIA also won two national Headliner Awards for documentary and news series.